Solidworks Qemu

Hello everybody,

This is my first time posting on this forum, so if I did something wrong please tell me.

I have a nice workstation if i say so my self not the newest hardware but I think strong enough.
Specs:
OS = Linux mint
CPU = intel core I7 3770
GPU = GTX660 and Quadro fx1800
RAM = 16gb ddr3
Generic ssd and hdd.

Now the question:

I use Solidworks for hobby and for school unfortunately it does not run on Linux so I made a Virtualmachine with WIN7 in virtualmachinemanager and qemu. Solidworks does not run in unsupported vm software such as qemu but after a workaround it did. It runs but that is it , it is not snappy at all. I gave the virtualmachine 4 cores and 8gb of ram. This should be plenty on a normal native machine. I have looked in the settings of virtual machine manager but I am getting a bit lost. Can someone help me with suggestions to make Solidworks run smoother in a vm.

I have found some ideas but I don’t know how and if they work or how to implement them such as:
GPU passthrough.
Different hypervisor.
Different display server standard is VNC.

In the best scenario Solidworks would run native on Linux but I don’t see that happening very soon, so I would be really happy if Solidworks runs smooth in a virtualmachine. Optimal would be if it was in a vm with some kind of seamless mode, so I don’t need to unlock my mouse when moving from the vm to my linux dekstop.

Thanks in advance,

Lux_

Sorry if my English is not so good, I am not a native speaker.

2 Likes

The cause of the slowness is primarily caused by the emulated gpu not having 3d capabilities. Graphics passthrough or dual booting would be the fix.

1 Like

Solidworks is single core, so tossing more cores won’t make it faster.

Clock speed, lots of memory, and a fast GPU is key for a powerful solidworks rig.