SOC voltage on 7950X3D / MSI X670E Carbon

Hello!

A couple of days ago I upgraded to a 7950X3D and 2x32GB DDR5-6000 on an MSI X670E Carbon motherboard. This is my first time touching an AM5 system. I’ve noticed the SOC voltage was automatically set to 1.35V when XMP is enabled, which seems very high to me (on my 5950X I had it at 1.05V and with XMP disabled the 7950X3D runs at 1.05V as well).

Is 1.35V SOC voltage normal and safe for Zen 4? Since this seemed very high to me I manually set it back down to 1.1V, which appears to be completely stable. If 1.1V is working fine, is there any possible reason to have it as high as 1.35? The RAM is running at 1.4V as per XMP, if that matters.

Thanks!

1 Like

AM5 should tolerate up to 1.45v vsoc, with AM4 4 it was 1.25V.
Are you satisfied with the MSI Carbon and are you using the third PCIe slot?

Good to know that it’s safe. I’ve tried to searching for information on what this voltage was supposed to be on AM5 but found very little, so I was unsure. If I try to manually set it to 1.35V, the entry turns red in the UEFI so I thought it was pretty high. So far 1.1V has been stable.

As for the 3rd slot, yes I am actually using it for a 10G network card, so I can have that in while the GPU still gets full bandwidth (as unnecessary as it may be in practice). I mostly wanted a board with at least 3 slots (and all of them with at least 4 lanes) because in the future it’s likely to migrate into my home server as I upgrade my desktop again and the PCIe slots are a lot more useful there.

The board so far has been generally working well and I got the features I wanted like the PCIe slots, the 6 SATA ports, the full complement of audio jacks, the debug LED, sufficient internal USB headers and a thermistor connection which I actually use to measure the temperature on the radiator. There are some quirks, but nothing I would consider a huge problem at this point: