SMB Network Setup - Biting off more than I can chew

Hey guys, I’m hoping the network wizards here can lend a hand and point out where I’m going wrong with my network setup. I’m pretty new to this calibre of networking and have likely bitten off more than I can handle with my current knowledge.

I’m in the process of setting up a small network for the SMB I work for. Our ISP has supplied a Cisco C1117 router that they manage, a /29 subnet, gateway/router IP and a couple of DNS IPs.

On our end there’s a Netgear M4300-52G switch that I was trying to set up a couple of VLANs on and get those talking to the web. Originally I’d set up VLAN 10 for general data and desktop comms, with the intention of another VLAN for separating VMs on our server , a VLAN for VoIP, and leaving VLAN 1 as management.

I’ve set up VLAN 10 on 192.168.10.0, with interfaces 1/02-24 associated to it.
1/0/1 and 1/0/49 are trunk ports.
I believe to have set the right vlan associations on access ports, PVIDs, native VLAN is set to 10 and I can ping hosts attached to VLAN10 from both the switch and from each other, similarly with the default gateway.

The issue comes when I try to ping 8.8.8.8 - it returns “Destination unreachable” as a reply from 192.168.1.4, the IP of 1/0.49 which is currently hooked up to the router on LAN interface 1.

I’m confident that I’ve screwed something up in the setup but want to be absolutely certain of that before I go crying to my ISP who’s dragged their feet for 3 months.

Thanks in advance for any help, or otherwise, given

1 Like

I threw together a quick network layout below (as a spreadsheet, but attached as screenshots); is this more or less what you’re working with or intending?

1 Like