Slow ZFS pool performance - where do I start?

Hi guys,
I’m new to the ZFS party, and I’m not really sure how to configure the thing to get full performance.

I’ve got a low power box(AMD GX-424CC) with a raid controller attached to it and a bunch of disks. There’s 8GB of RAM inside. I didn’t configure any cache, just the spinning rust.

I have a raid 10 pool configured with 4 HDDs, and I can’t go past 100MB/s write speed. Usually it’s more like 60MB/s. I’m copying from 3 HDDs put in a raid 0 on the controller itself. How do I check what’s the bottleneck here?

I would appreciate a few pointers, thanks.

Here’s some fio results:

sudo fio --name=random_write --filename=/tank/test.tmp --filesize=100g --rw=randwrite --bs=4k --direct=1 --overwrite=0 --numjobs=10 --iodepth=32 --time_based=1 --runtime=30 --group_reporting
random_write: (g=0): rw=randwrite, bs=(R) 4096B-4096B, (W) 4096B-4096B, (T) 4096B-4096B, ioengine=psync, iodepth=32
fio-3.19
Starting 10 processes
Jobs: 10 (f=10): [w(10)][0.0%][eta 12d:04h:17m:35s]
random_write: (groupid=0, jobs=10): err= 0: pid=384191: Mon Jan 24 22:06:26 2022
  write: IOPS=423, BW=1692KiB/s (1733kB/s)(56.3MiB/34073msec); 0 zone resets
    clat (usec): min=21, max=8953.2k, avg=23606.55, stdev=291378.84
     lat (usec): min=21, max=8953.2k, avg=23607.25, stdev=291378.84

This isn’t a ZFS problem. HDDs aren’t good at random writes or reads, that’s why people love SSDs. The (atrocious) random write speed looks normal to me.

If you replace --rw=randwrite with --rw=write you should see values that are more in line with “advertised” speed values, meaning ~200-500MiB/s, depending on your drives.

edit: --bs=4k is yet another worst case scenario for a HDD. Use blocksize of 1024k if you want to compare your machine’s performance to manufacturer spec sheets.

2 Likes

if you wanted to test for a particularly bad drive, you could run

zpool iostat -yv 0.5

(ctrl+c to close)

and it’ll give the report of how much each drive is reading/writing?