Sizing home lab nas, plex, virtualization servers

I’m looking for input on sizing a nas and plex/owncloud server. I’m planning to build a desktop in the near future an could just run docker and virtualbox on there.

I’m playing with the idea of making a server just for virtualservers/docker as well… but this isn’t super critical at the moment.

I work as a software developer (linux/java) and have everything right now on my laptop.
Current backup solution is hope and wishy thinking (no backup…just move forward)

My laptop’s hd is 500GB
I like the mini-itx form factor so am looking for something small and power efficient.
Budget: 5k (not planning to use everything)
What is most important for me is footprint (mini-itx) and power efficiency.

I’m not looking to go overkill but at the same time I don’t want to paint myself in the corner either.

If anyone has in resources that might point me into the right direction or have any input I would be grateful.

Thanks!

For compact-ness sake

I like the idea of a NUC8i7HNK

(the nuc as two internal sata ports… so could have it all in one unit, until you out grow the storage you can fit internally)

or/and a small storage server with 2-4TB of sata SSDs shared to the NUC over iSCSI or NFS.

This entirely depends on how much gear and dataspace you want to get. If you want to have a small foot print you can easily get a 4 bay NAS and a NUC to get everything on your checklist.

If you want to whitebox it you can still go small with cases like the Fractal Node 304 that can hold 6 full sized HDDs and build out that way. With another one that would be your VM host.

The world is your oyster man and welcome to the insanity that is homelabbing.

First I’d say, out of experience, only have room for 2-4 drives in the enclosure, and not have the ability to exchange to a faster CPU, can quickly become an issue for a homelab/NAS, especially when plex is in the mix.