Sharing Internet over Ethernet behavior

So I am currently a University student living in the dorms, I can request the ethernet ports in my room to be activated but I am not allowed to connect a router or switch to them. I was thinking it could be possible to use a usb ethernet port to share the connection from my pc to a router. A friend of mine had a router they would use for their 3DS and they had no idea it wasn't allowed, but I guess it was working. So I guess my question is what problems does a router or switch cause on the school's network and could the issue be avoided by sharing the internet connection through my computer? I would like for my devices to be able to communicate with each other as it seems that none of them can see each other on the school's network. Also, when running a vm in virtual box it creates a virtual nic that the vm uses, is this much different?

Mostly wondering if my router would interfere with their network setup as I don't want to cause them issues, I currently use a VPN to have my traffic encrypted. As for Wifi I know that much, I'm directly in the center of campus so it would draw attention. Even my professor suggested it when I requested to be allowed to use a router for a research project and they told me it could not touch their network or broadcast wifi. I have used my phone to usb tether the universities wifi and I can communicate with the phone from my computer by using the WAN IP, not sure if it's something specific to the usb tethering but it seems strange to me to use the WAN IP to communicate locally.

I mentioned this in another thread (can't seem to find it though) that this type of thing is a bad idea. Universities like mine typically use Static IPs and like to know everything/everyone that is connected. Those who break the rules are subject to a one year or permanent network ban. So in other words, if you get caught, your login credentials to attach to wifi could get locked out.