Seeking recommendations for USB over IP

Hello everyone!
I’m currently encountering a situation where I need to access a printer remotely, which is connected to another computer. After some research, I stumbled upon the concept of USB over IP which seems like a potential solution to my problem.
Could anyone kindly suggest reliable tools or software for USB over IP? I’m particularly interested in ones that offer seamless connectivity and easy setup, as I’m not too experienced in networking intricacies.
Any recommendations or insights based on personal experience would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you in advance!

Sounds like your problem could be solved with TeamViewer or another remote solution
However USB over IP intrigues me, anyone else know anything about it

There are USB over CAT6 IIRC? Can those fulfill the need?

1 Like

This kind of thing does work, how complex it is depends what you mean by remotely (e.g. do you mean from within the same LAN, or through a router), and how abstract you can take your readme docs.

https://usbip.sourceforge.net/

There are “easy” applications that exist, the ones I’ve seen required a payment card or even an account, at that point the note above about teamviewer or something like it is well made, while also a more general solution.

There is also ’
Usb over ethernet extenders
Usb print servers
And you could probably just get a network printer for not much more than trying to coble together a shared printer.
Also if there is a pc next to the printer already, you could do a software shared printer.
Last but my best recommendation, stop printing.

3 Likes

Using some kind of print server whether it’s on the PC that’s connected to the printer or some other hardware or printer that already has network printing built in is the best solution for this application. But I am interested in what options there are for USB over IP.

1 Like

As a point to search, usb over ip, and usb over ethernet, are 2 different things.

1 Like