Seeking Guidance for Building a Home Server/Router Setup

Hello Everyone,

I’ve been working in IT for a couple of years, primarily at a small MSP focused on the SMB market. While I’ve gained valuable experience I still have lots to learn. I’m eager to further my learning and experimentation at home. However, my “home office” is about to be repurposed as we’re expecting our second child, so space is limited.

I recently watched the “Forbidden router” and The Ultimate Home Server! series, which has inspired me to final build a home server that can also function as a firewall/router. I understand this might not be the optimal solution, but given my space constraints, it seems like the best approach. Additionally, I’m aiming for a quiet setup to help not annoy by Wife.

Here’s what I’m thinking:

Hardware:

• Processor: 1st or 2nd generation AMD Epyc with at least 16 cores.
  • RAM: 128GB or more.
  • Storage:
    • 8TB of SSDs for VMs.
    • 4+TB in RAID for personal files (photos and documents).
    • 12-24TB for multimedia storage (Movies/TV/Music), RAID or not.
  • I have a Sapphire Pulse Radeon RX 570 ITX 4G which can be used in this build.

Networking:

• Currently have a 300/100Mb fibre connection
  • All devices expect my PC and this sever run over wifi
  • I will connect this server under the current ISP router, so if there is any issues, my family is not impacted and I will connect under the server.
  • I do have a IBM 49Y4242 Intel ETHERNET Quad-Port Adapter which I will be using

Software Choices:

• I’m undecided between ESXi and Proxmox VE as the underlying OS for virtualization.
  • I do have VMware Workstation Pro on my desktop
  • Seeking advice on the best approach for setting up the RAID for personal photos.
  • General hardware recommendations for my use case.

Future Projects:

• I plan to work on several projects over time, including:

I’d greatly appreciate any insights, recommendations, or guidance from the community.