Security+ Tips

Hi All, this is my first post here I think. I am looking for any tips or insights on security+ certification. I have been a long time hobbyist and self taught on a lot of fundamentals in programming and hardware with some smaller projects in production at work.

I am currently a US federal employee in logistics, looking to make a move to federal IT. Security+ is required for most if not all IT jobs in the federal domain as I understand it.

I will say I think my weakest area is networking. I have the basics down, but I wouldnt feel comfortable if there were non superficial issues to troubleshoot.

Thank you for advice you can provide. Hope this is the right category and not a duplicate post. I did try to search.

Honestly just buy the Professor Messer study guides.

2 Likes

iv’e been doing the same over the last year and a bit.
and to be blunt the amount of money some of them ask borders on silly.
CompTIA isn’t too expensive but its also not cheap if your stomping the cash up yourself.
but as ucav117 points out, the courses are often online for free, well presented and cover the entire curriculum.
so you really only have to stomp up the cash for the exam.

as you already work for government, is there a path to the job you want from the job you have?.
if so, approach your boss and see if there’s a way to get your current employer to pay for the courses you want to take, that will get you to where you want to be.

that being said… if your in an IT department already, it should be an easy ask.
if your manual labour… your pretty much gonna have to fight for help.

2 Likes

I have my Sec+ for my IAT II.
Best advice is:
1: KNOW YOUR PORTS AND PROTOCOLS.
2: KNOW YOUR PORTS AND PROTOCOLS.
3: During the test, I’ve come across questions that will literally give you the answer to a different question. So always remember to flag and go back to a question if you’re not sure. You might come across the answer later.

3 Likes