Scripting download of file from box.com link

Hi everyone,

I’m a bit of a noob at high level programming and web stuff, I’ve only really used vb.net in visual studio (we learned VB6 in school).

I need to reliably download this file once every day using some sort of script on windows. https://cbaa.app.box.com/s/yemq5chyijnstu2foyzv2xucist56riw

If I just use the full link that the browser gets when I click the download button

e.g.

https://public.boxcloud.com/api/2.0/files/52633519149/content?preview=true&version=448269628762&access_token=1!E0ySP34v3XRU2Bnq_2z4GkYanErlwlR3fGmXyXhOp6EZonZrayju6boWYzdMFEumUuThORTqun0raAdKBXzVAzAyfqhyG9HkTAJEXE_8A9L6cPV7hXyIDk9Ujx37lUfs2ijO_DpA_RI-vPqYbcB_I4Sgk5pv6C9SeI1C5lmmrHoOPWlytcTDc7vPHH9cyD5PNMBWmSjpC8gSulfIYb9gRMT5CLArfJzRglu-USxm_OA3KQDwSt2NYPThnhU-CyljGntYUgLpMGcnZ55OxZUGAvLmLaSMeSqcC0VpOr2ZeMwZMuwILM1qOacE14GBHHhh0W8GS47lfFIbKkUpqs0A3ub6w_SfuIr2kWleYdQO9qwQ7AQP68eTnJpW6OfUQ2RB9y4TmVoOTkB_PADThEKY3T8itXCPeTic7B_Uk0YEWQ9DHRg-AL4BSpbDpXN324T9T2-cOqXpaJ8K05dOS1sdc0LNF19XYWzOtg5cWPBTFfk9ov8Q1LjZV4NkFgKOSeFgLvZgpIwXlnmOVuAXXjbpDgC9hPv7NBcSK8t-mSHTB5l5AC3P1xXfgOFUr8lk&shared_link=https%3A%2F%2Fcbaa.app.box.com%2Fs%2Fyemq5chyijnstu2foyzv2xucist56riw&box_client_name=box-content-preview&box_client_version=2.2.1

it times out after a few tries.

Is there a way to automatically generate this “expanded” link?

Is this a really simple task? If so what should I search for for more info?

Thanks, Timothy.

I’d use Python to make a small script that could do it for me. There are libraries available to interact with websites.

I’d think you’ll have to authenticate yourself on the website to get the link, since you’re using an access_token. Maybe if you keep the connection alive before there’s a timeout for your session, but then you might as well authenticate yourself using your script.