SATA & SAS fittings in an R620

Hello, I’m just starting out with enterprise hardware, though I have used and built workstation PC’s before.

My problem is with this set of used Dell R620s. They were part of a VMware cluster, as such they used to boot off of a set of internal SD cards. Now I’d like to run Proxmox, and so I picked up a SATA SSD and some drive sleds to hold them. However, the SATA drives won’t seem to physically fit in the bays. I was able to locate some old SAS drives, and those fit, but they give errors on the small iDrac screen on the front of the server ( PDR1024 drive mismatch detected). I think that’s because the controller for the bay is SATA only, and not SAS. Is there an adapter or something that I’m missing to be able to insert this SATA drive into the bay?

Well, mechanically, SAS sockets should physically accept SATA drives, but not the other way around.
The SAS controller might not read/interract with them, but the drive should Physically fit, with no additional effort.
It might give funny light colours, even if it does read the drives.

If the caddy is a Small Form Factor, should just be a case of eyeballing the holes, and lining the caddy up with a SATA drive so the goldfingers are in the same place…

As far as I can tell, the connectors on the SATA line up with the connectors on the SAS drives, when I lay them out next to each other. However, when attempting to slide the caddy into the bay with the SATA drive, I get firm resistance, and that doesn’t happen when I try to insert the caddy with the SAS drive. The locking lever doesn’t even engage. That looks suspiciously like I’m doing something wrong, somehow.

it does looks like the re is something wrong.
You are sure the SATA drive isn’t like 2-3 mm further out on the caddy than the sas drive?

And are the drives the same size width and length?
some SAS drives have heavy heatsinking, throwing the dimensions off