Samsung evo 850s

I got myself some evos during amazon sales period.How should i use 6 x 500 gb evos. I have a few options and i need some advice. my currrent pcs dont need extra storage nor speed (nvme ftw). I am rebuilding my pc ecosystem and dont want to waste them. I would like to utilise them to the maximum. here is the list of of options
A) zfs and virtual machine pool ( im torn between using raid z2 of 6x evos and using p3600 and ram disks for the other write intensive stuff , I have a ton of ecc ram , 200 gb ecc ddr4 ram between my freenas and vm workstation, )
b) Vm backup along with my Freenas box for fast
c)Naigos /wiresharg box plus other linux services with zfs ( im a noob to this! but I have some free time i would like to invest in learning things)
d) adding it as an extra fast storage to freenasnas box ( multiple 10 gig nics on the network)
e) total waste, using them for games library, emulators etc.Os drives are not needed, enterprise grade drives for that, booting times on server grade mobos is horrible anyway 5 s wont change a thing. I do not want to resell them , I wont get the money I invested in them sadly.
edit, yes I do have a 4k monitor

1 Like

"dont need extra storage nor speed (nvme ftw)." - I question your purchase as to why beyond the standard "Because they were on sale and because I could" of them drives ;p

Using them as reliable backup or zfs and vm pool is what I would go for

I would add it to an existing NAS as fast shared storage. You could allocate storage out to any box as needed for any purpose. VMs, database, search indexing, etc. It might be too slow to do too much in raidz2 through. Possibly going with a raid10 equivalent in ZFS would be better.