Samsung 960 EVO Getting Seriuously hot, is this normal?

So I got a Samsung 960 EVO 256GB SSD I’ve been using for about 4 years ago, however it wasn’t until very recently I decided to take a look at temperatures and found some very weird behavior.

So in HWINFO64, the 2nd temperature sensor is reporting SERIOUSLY high temperatures, with the highest recorded temps I’ve seen being almost 110C.

Some people are saying this is the memory controller, but honestly seems nobody on the internet knows.

Can anyone give any insight as to what this temperature sensor is, and why it’s so high? And is it okay?

I mean, it has ran like this for 4 years, (probably not hitting 110C, but definitely in the mid 90Cs), so i think it’s okay.

(FYI, idle temps are nowhere near these temps, the current temps on the graph are when I ran a ssd benchmark.)

Hows air flow, whats ambient? (also you will almost never stress an SSD like you are when running a benchmark) Flash likes to be hot controllers not so much so you arent hurting the memory just the controller if anything. (not sure what tjmax is tho for it)

Ambient is like 70F, sometimes 75F.

Airflow is good, i got 3 140mm fans at 950RPM in exhaust in a Phanteks Evolv ATX TG. Front intake is a corsair 240mm AIO.

However I ran this test with nothing else warm, only ran it after a gaming session. (still even if i cold boot the system, i’ll hit 95-100C on the 2nd temp)

Yeah I figured. I heard flash likes to be warm. But I can’t find anything as to if A. that 2nd temp is controller temp and B. What’s the safe zone for it.

It doesnt seem that crazy form other reports, I would throw a heat sink on it if possible but it probably doesnt go that high during regular use so I woudnt worry that much.

2 Likes

Might be possible though. Perhaps TechFusion took the entire front panel of.