Samsung 840 vs 850 (Solved)

The samsung 120gb 850 evo is currently listed cheaper than the 840, should I just get 850?

look at the specs and think about it.

the newer better is cheaper than the older? of course get it?

Will do, just thought it was strange that it was cheaper.

Graycat: I'm not experienced in ssd's, I presume its which one has the faster read/write speeds but amazon doesn't give them specs. Plus this forum is very reliable

Took 4 seconds... from a simple google search.

http://ssd.userbenchmark.com/Compare/Samsung-850-Evo-250GB-vs-Samsung-840-Evo-250GB/2977vs1594

Should be pretty self explanatory, sorry if I am being blunt but seriously man.

I know man lol, just an excuse to try out the new forum layout.

The reason is simple. 840 is the old design and is no longer in production.

So when you buy it online, you're buying what is left of the old stock. Since stock is not being replenished, the value will rise due to availability, not due to quality. This is the same when looking at old mobos and cpus. They are the same price or more as the new gen ones sometimes. Doesn't make them worth buying. When an amazon seller is sold out, the next priced group of sellers comes next. So when the pricing doesn't make sense, that just means that it was sold out and you are seeing the next best price, which usually isn't that good at all. All products will be like that, as gpus, coolers and peripherals also have had that happen over the holidays.

Get the 850 as it is better in every way, and cheaper.

Thanks for reply drewjn, very informative.

Oh btw, be careful with msrp prices and list prices on newegg and especially amazon. Whenever a sale goes on, they sometimes inflate the base or 'list price' to give an incorrect sales percent. (seller not amazon itself)