Replacement for Google Keep

I’ve been using Google Keep for over 5 years now, and personally I cannot think of parting with having a synchronized notepad. Slowly I have done my best where convenient and possible to shift away from Google in as many ways as I can, but I cannot seem to find a unified note taking application that can sync between Mac, Windows, Linux, and Android that works as smoothly as Keep. Joplin is the only thing I’ve tried, and it personally feels a little clunky.

What other options are out there that are open source and can be self-hosted?

Are you wanting something that has native applications for each of those OSes? Or something browser-based only?

The only platform that I need to have a good and usable native application for is Android, just due to the inherent quirks of using a touch screen compared to a mouse and keyboard. Joplin is alright in the mobile app, but the UI is not nearly as well designed for a mobile touch screen.

Hmm, I don’t know for a good android version, sorry.

This is a good resource, you could go through this list and see if any look promising.

3 Likes

That list will give me lots of options to check out that I have never heard of nor considered. Thanks for the link.

1 Like

So despite my initial issues with Joplin, I decided to give it another go for the last 36 hours. My conclusion is that it is even more annoying and pointless than I initially thought. It’s ability to set reminders/alarms is horribly inconsistent and only worked briefly on one of my two Windows 10 machines. The mobile app is not as clunky as I remember it being, but it does such a poor job sending and receiving notes between it and the desktop versions via the integrated Dropbox syncing.

On the bright side I’ve realized that what I have been looking for was not necessarily a note taking application, but rather a task tracking and notification system which would more likely be found in varying calendar applications and software.