Refurbishing an old rig

Good day everyone. To start off I'm a super noob. I got this old rig from about 5yr+ ago. My brother and I were thinking about transforming it into a bitcoin miner, it doesn't have to be optimal we're just experimenting. Here are the specs(don't laugh):

Motherboard: Gigabyte ga-8i915g duo

Cpu:some Celarion crap

Ram: 512mb DDR2

Hdd:256gb

Graphic card: built in???

Now I believe with specs like these the only option is to max it out. Getting the top possible specs should be cheap with most of them being outdated by now. I've been to a few sites for the motherboard and can't figure out if I can go beyound Pentium 4. I also don't know what is the best graphic card compatible. Is DDR3 possible? Besides trashing the whole thing any advice is welcome. 

You'd be surprised by how expensive upgrading an old machine is, which is precisely why I don't upgrade machines older than a few years. Either re-purpose as a general use or home server, or recycle it.

I suppose, in theory, it could run a Core 2 Duo, but good luck finding one (under $40). It could be bested by the lowest end Ivy Bridge based Celeron, which is around $40. A pentium 4 (even the highest end model) doesn't have an ice-cube's chance in hell to compete with an Ivy Bridge celeron on any level.

A good GPU that won't be utterly bottlenecked by your CPU? maybe a 7770. But you could stick a 7970 in there, if you wanted to, assuming your power supply could handle it.

No DDR3 RAM is NOT possible on that motherboard.

And unless you've got money to burn, don't mine with that machine. You'll definitely be mining at a loss, meaning you'll pay more in power than any bitcoinage you can mine will be worth.