Recommendations for Home/Self-Hosting Reverse Proxy Easier to Learn than Traefik?

Hello,

I’m about to embark on trying to self-host some services, some of which will be accessible publicly.

I’m planning to use a reverse proxy, and have previous experience with NGINX Proxy Manager to manage self-hosted domains and associated Let’s Encrypt certs ( https://nginxproxymanager.com/ ).

I’d be happy to use it again, but it’s missing some features I’m interested in, primarily:

1. Bandwidth monitoring per host (that is, how much bandwidth up/down is my Ghost blog VM using through its associated public-facing domain?); and
  2. Bandwidth throttling (I want to control how much of my upstream bandwidth each service can use).

Maybe the reverse proxy isn’t the best place to do those things; I’m not sure.

I’m aware of HAProxy and Caddy and some others, but I have no experience with them. I’m a hobbyist that just wants to self-host a few services. Traefik is too complex for my needs and the learning curve is steeper than I can deal with right now.

I’d really appreciate some advice. Thanks!

I’ve used caddy to great success in the past. Super easy to set up. I don’t know much about bandwidth management, but I’d start at my router for something like that.

2 Likes

Thanks for the rec. I’ll check out some YouTube videos. :slight_smile:

I was hoping for bandwidth management integrated into the reverse proxy so that I could get it all set up there in a VM or LXC and have it continue to work as configured even if I have to switch out the router at 3AM or something (notwithstanding firewall rules on the router, of course).

NGINX Proxy Manager

2 Likes

I’ve used NPM before and love it, but was interested in what other options might exist. It’s been a few years.