Recommendation for UPS? On a 1600w PSU drawing ~1400w. Just for controlled shutdown

Rough year for weather? Before July, I think we’ve had 1 power outage in the past 8 years. Have had 3 in the past 30 days! Weather forecast suggests more are on the way soon. Anyway, any recommendations on a ups to signal a controlled shutdown for a workstation drawing around 1400w from the wall? I’m no expert on this subject, but it seems like there’s a lot of bad info out there.

EDIT: Forgot to add that I’m in the U.S.

SLA batteries can only supply around 200W-400W each for a short period.
A UPS to supply 1400W will be large and expensive.
Rent a generator and run off of that, the fuel cost be cheaper than a ups for 1 power outage in 8 years.

Is your workstation really drawing 1400w? That’s rather obscene. I hope you’ve at least got 80plus power supplies.

1500W is the top rating you’ll find on cheap UPSes. They’ll actually do 1800W on a normal 120V outlet, but code says not to draw the max for more than 3 hours at a time, so they de-rate them to 1500W. Any higher and you’ll need a funny plug with sideways prongs, and prices jump.

Assuming your PSUs do have PFC (your WATT number should be the same as the VA number), One of these should minimally work for you without breaking the bank:

An actually “smart” unit. Uses a few of the cheap RBC2 batteries you’ll find in FIOS boxes and lots of other devices all over the place. Run-time will be under 5 minutes.

I have two APC Smart UPS 1500s. These are enterprise grade.
https://www.apc.com/shop/us/en/products/APC-Smart-UPS-1500VA-LCD-120V-Not-for-sale-in-CO-VT-or-WA-/P-SMT1500

@Wendell tried a few ups’s “rated” for 1500w but few actually worked well

2 Likes

I’m happy with Delta Amplon R-2K. It will run 1,2 kW load for about 6-7 minutes and you can add external battery units to it.
R-3K is rated for 2,7kW, but I don’t have that.