Raspberry Pi as a Web Server

Hi! I have just received a Raspberry Pi 3 as a very belated Christmas gift and was wondering if any of you have used one as a web server. I have previously used pay-per-use remote servers to host my personal website (I'm a CSC Student so I basically just use my site as a splash page / basic resume) and was wondering If I could save a few dollars by just hosting it on my Raspberry Pi. That said, I figured that I should ask around and see if anyone else is doing this and if its even worth my time.

P.S I'm relatively new to linux, and have never used a Raspberry Pi (if it wasn't already obvious) so if this is an atrocious idea I apologize.Please feel free to suggest projects or other uses for the pi as well!

Thanks in advance!

They are nice to use for internal web services (Nextcloud, TTRSS, Wallabag etc) But I would be hesitant to have it open to the outside internet for security reasons.

But .tk domains are free and lets encrypt gives free TLS/SSL certs. So it isn't too hard to do.

Pi's run Apache and NGNX just fine.

http://www.dot.tk/en/index.html?lang=en

5 Likes

A Raspberry pi is not a powerful machine. So for external hosting, I wouldn't use a Pi. But for development or testing some website concepts without ruining or bloating your public web server you can definitely use a Pi!

https://www.raspberrypi.org/learning/lamp-web-server-with-wordpress/

You can leave the WordPress part above, but it is a basic web server.

yes a PI will make a lovely web host - just don't try and do too much with it as it's processing is limited and Heavy DB writes will kill SD cards - but from my experience, the power/speed is about the same as a low end shared web hosting platform.