Ramdisk on Linux that will move to a hard disk and back for reboots?

I’m still learning, but this is a place I trust to ask about things like this. I’ve been messing with making a ramdisk for an application and I was wondering if its not too hard to make it where the ram drive would be moved to a location on the hard drive when the application closes? For things like restarts and shutdowns, like when the power fails and the UPS takes over. Then when the application is started back up it’d create the ramdisk again and work from that? So not so much a back up on the hard disk like some guides want me to do, just kind of opening the application into a ramdisk automatically and doing the reverse when closing.

Does that make sense and is it feasible for someone like myself to set up? Thanks for any help.

I’m not sure entirely what it is you’re after, something like criu or just extra performance.

If latter, Linux has mlock and madvise that can force the app or mapped files to stay in pagecache (ram) while the app is running. Pagecache is also shared between processes.

Do you also want to force data writes to disk(or SSD/nvme) to not sync?

1 Like

Just for clarification:

You want to open the application -> kernel creates a ramdisk and loads application into that -> application lives in RAM until A.) Application is closed (writes ramdisk to disk in current state) and/or B.) Signal is received from UPS that power is funky and application is closed and then written to ramdisk?

This might be what you are looking for:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Anything-sync-daemon