Radeon HD 7750 on Linux?

Hi guys, I’m just getting started with Linux on my PC, currently using an HD 7750 since my GTX 770 got roasted by a bad PSU - Is there anything I should know for getting it running smoothly? I’ve only tested a couple games so far, it works fine with BallisticNG, but I get intermittent freezing in Planetary Annihilation… sometimes it works fine, sometimes it freezes after a minute, sometimes after three. Even weirder, if get into a skirmish first, it won’t freeze for the rest of the session. Trying to figure out if it’s a problem with the game or a problem with my computer.

I’m on ZorinOS 15.1 (Ubuntu-based), kernel version 5.4.3. Haven’t messed around with PPAs or anything like that yet.

Should be fine… Not a powerhouse of a card but I use one for testing purposes. Could be a game or settings issue as the card is pretty old and more of 720p card. It does 1080p but not well at gaming levels.

Should be, for sure. Gonna install some more games tonight and see if any other weirdness comes up. I was looking up AMD driver installation a few days ago (before I realised the drivers are built into the kernel these days - that blew me away after a lifetime of Windows) and found a bunch of stuff about getting this or that PPA to make Mesa work or what have you, so that got me wondering if I just missed a setup step. Is that something you still do?

A testing card now for ruling out bad gpu ect…or lost a gpu and nothing else on hand atm. Drag it around with me.

I imagine it would struggle greatly with modern games. Some retro games would make more sense.

Gaming on linux with pop os and 2080 at 1440p atm :slight_smile:

Yeah, that’s an AMD only thing. Nvidia still does separate drivers you have to install. (or you can use the open source ones that are a bit less efficient)