Questions on Linux file system (coming from Windows)

Hi semi linux newbie here,
I want to try using Ubuntu 18 as my main OS and was wondering how the file system structure works. Specifically:

1. Is there a folder similar to AppData that stores savedata/configs
  2. Where would I find internal drives? Do they mount automatically?
    2.5 Is there a way to stop specific drives from automounting? Going to dualboot windows and I don’t want it to try reading the windows partitions
  3. Where do programs install to when using apt-get?
  4. Is there a %TEMP% folder that needs to be cleaned out every so often?
  5. Is there a way to move Documents, Videos, etc. to another internal drive? Would I use symlink? How would the permissions work for that?

Sorry if these are all really obvious answers. I’ve messed a little with ubuntu servers but not enough to answer all these questions.

1.yes system config files are located in /etc some configs are saved in your home folder in hidden folders as well but it’s all mostly in /etc
2. your windows partitions should not automount but they will be visible in your file manager as an option to be mounted.
3. /bin or /usr/bin typically.
4. there is /tmp but you don’t need to manually clean it
5. you can map your /home folder to a seperate partition you can set this up during installation

1 Like
  1. This stuff is under your home directory, typically under /home/youruser/.config for user-specific and /etc for global.
  2. Drives mount under /media and removable drives do automount by default. You can blacklist individual devices but this is pretty complicated to do, messing with udev.
  3. Various spots, typically /bin or /usr/bin. You basically don’t need to worry about it.
  4. There is /tmp, and it autocleans when you reboot
  5. Sure, ln -s /home/Videos /media/otherdrive/Videos. Permissions would transfer.
1 Like

Perhaps this could be of help:

/etc/ is your root config location, most of the time you don’t want to mess with it