Questions for a 3900x build

Hi guys,

I am going to be building a Ryzen 3900 based PC but since it has been a few years since I have actually built a PC of my own I was just hoping you guys could clarify some technical questions so I buy the right parts.

1. I am aware that with Ryzen 3000 the IF runs 1:1 with ram up to 3600 (or is it 3733 I kept seeing this speed being referenced when Ryzen 3000 was first announced) and after that the bus works at a different ratio. If my understanding is correct one could manually set IF clock so if I had memory say clocked at 3800 I could set the IF clock to 3800 (as long as the CPU can manage it) to maintain 1:1 clock ratio to avoid any latency hits. Is my overall understanding of this correct?

2. In the past running more than two DIMMS would mean you couldn’t run the memory at higher speeds. Is that still the case with Ryzen 3000? I am a software developer so I could use 32 GB’s of ram so I am wondering if I could get a 4 dimm kit and run at the rated speed. For example there are 4 dimm kits that are rated at 3600 mhz of Trident Z Neo which from what I understand are designed for Ryzen 3000. Does that mean if I picked up one of these kits the ram will run at the rated speed in my system? If it maters I am looking at getting the Gigabyte Aorus Master mother board.

3. Previous Ryzen CPU’s had issues running past 3200 from my understanding, if I was to use a x470 based motherboard with the 3900x should I be able to run at 3600 MHz ram? Or are the memory traces also better to support higher speed ram on newer motherboards.

4. Lastly how likely is it possible to run memory past 3600 MHz on the 3900x? From what I am seeing running the memory at 3800 MHz should be very possible.

Thanks in advanced.

The speed that the infinity fabric decouples from the 1:1 ratio is at 3800 or faster, so 3733 is the fastest you could clock the RAM up to before this occurs.