Questions about nvme raid card

Hello guys,

I have a GPU server at work that I wanted to virtualize with ESXi. It’s a gigabyte G292-Z42 and should supports up to 4 nvme U2 drives.

Stock i had a single PM9A3 2TB U2 ssd connected to the motherboard with a slimlink 4i connector.

As ESXI required Hardware RAID, I have bought a raid card (9560-8i) and 3 PM9A3 drive to build a RAID5 array.
I have also bought a cable SFF 8654-8i to 2x SFF-8654 4i

First I think I have mistaken because a single SFF-8654 4i connector support only one disk ? ? I’m new with nvme RAID but with SATA i can have more than 2 disks on my XXXX-8i cards.
But the problem is that no disks are detected > faulty ‘new’ cable ? or SSD backplane ?

I understand that I should by a 9560-16i raid card to get more than 2 disks but with the current setup I should see 2 disks detected.
I can’t find anything from server manual, and for the ssd backplane too (which is referenced CBPG083)

my best bet would be to buy a cable (SFF-8654 8i to 4x SFF 8639 or U2) and remove the backplane. but i should take power somewhere, cable have molex :frowning:

Did you guys have some advices to get me on the right track ?

Thanks a lot !

Hard to say what the issue is without knowing more about the backplane.
Does the backplane have four SFF-8654 4i connectors on it (one for each NVME slot)? How are the remaining SATA/SAS bays connected to the motherboard?

It would be non-ideal to stop using the backplane in such a tightly integrated chassis, but if you could find power from somewhere it might be possible to stop using the backplane as a last resort.