Quantum computing and all that

Hey, guys! I've just begun studying quantum computing and honestly I don't have a good understanding of theory of computation or quantum mechanics in general. Having done nothing more than a rudimentary study about automatons, Turing machines and all that and on the quantum side of the subject, just a vague understanding of the formalism, few interesting problems like SHO and particle in a box.
I have found the topic of quantum computing not as intimidating as I thought it'd be. Things like qubit and quantum logic gates a few simple algorithms are not that hard of a topic to tackle and they remove a lot of misconceptions regarding instantaneous teleportation and other things floating around as click baits.
Then again, I'm only a beginner. I just want a discussion to get going. People can share their problems and interests on this topic. I want to know what you guys are upto :P

Like lots of people, I'm interested in quantum computing mostly because of Shor's Algorithm and Grover's Algorithm, which when combined will probably make modern public-key encryption obsolete once real quantum computation on more than about 1000 qubits becomes common. I know the basics, but actually understanding those algorithms is far beyond me.

This website is pretty relevant. Post-quantum cryptography is a really big issue, and we need to migrate to it ASAP. https://pqcrypto.org/

2 Likes

Well the consequences are quite hair-raising. But I have decided to start small.
Neilsen and Chuang's text on the subject is quite comprehensive for beginners like me. You might want to have a look at it, if you haven't already

I am actually writing my bachelor thesis on applying NTRU algorithms (Post Quantum Cryptography) on some numerical calculations on matrices (Linear algebra, yikes!), which could give a nice speed increase in computations on special kind of matrices.