Q6600 overclocking

Hi overclock noob here,

I have a q6600 on a MSI p6N diamond with a zalman 9700led cpu fan. I want to overclock it. I was hoping to do about 3.2 or 3.4 ghz. Is that feasible? If yes what programs should I use and can I do it without doing stuff in the bios?

Thanks

how is that heatsink?

Natural FSB's are safe. (1066//1333//1600) Voltages are easily changed if needed.

Programs never work (besides that Intel shit) You don't need a quad core higher than 3.0Ghz

Yeah you could probably overclock that fine.

Water cooling is always more rape but that heatsink is fine for a slight overclock.

You could hit 3 ghz barely trying i'd bet.

overclocking software doesn't work. gigabyte has some that does, but its only for gigabyte boards.

you have to do it in bios.

I have Q6600 and Zalman 9700 NT. Right now, my temps are 38c, 38c, 36c and 37c @ 3.2Ghz. It is better to do it in bios.

just overclocked my q6600 to 3ghz (fsb 333mhz, 9x multiplier)

on the zerotherm nirvana temps are

min: 22ºC, 21ºC, 18ºC, 18ºC

max: 34ºC, 30ºC, 25ºC, 25ºC

i was gonna run prime95, then jason says IT'LL BE STABLE, I KNOW IT! so i'll prolly bump it up to 3.2ghz like belial, or even try 3.4ghz..

Quote from me

"I fucking hate kokun."

</3

:(

edit: for the past half an hour of prime95 testing, the max temps are up to 55, 53, 50 and 50ºC

first 2 cores are sticking around 50ºC while the last 2 cores are around 45ºC while at 100% load

i would think that 50 is a very good temp for max load, i would be happy.

even 60 wouldn't be a bad max temp, especially at 3.0ghz! however, if it ever did get above 60 i would lower my overclock... whats your voltage at?

lol it's set at auto, so it varies from 1.2-low 1.3v