Python tools for D&D

Hi guys!!
I'm studying software engineering and since our school projects are kinda boring and without purpose I started working on a little suite of tools for Dungeons and Dragons Dungeon Masters (or also player, if you want).
Right now I have a simple dice roller and I'm programming a random Magic Weapon Generator.
Is there something that you'd find useful being a DM? Or a player?
Here's a link to the GitHub if you want to take a look and/or collaborate!!
Take care and keep rolling those dices :)

3 Likes

Easy making and managing character sheets. I know there are plenty of programs for this you can take a look at, but this can be a real nightmare to deal with especially during long sessions (so it is still useful as a practice).

1 Like

This is a cool idea. I'm gonna look at your code later :D have you put it under a license? (More free software is always good!)

My idea is to open source it, I really should look into creative commons licenses or simialr for code!!
I'll dive into it later :)

1 Like

GPL is great for code and CC is great for assets art and writing, that would be my suggestion

I'll look it up! Thanks for the suggestion :)

1 Like

For the diceroller, I'd chance one thing.

This for loop will run through every integer between 0 and the diceNumber, assigning it to a variable called "dice".
It looks a bit nicer IMO. Don't have to stick "dice = 0" before and "dice += 1" at the end of the while, and the starting line of the loop explains what's actually happening much more clearly. "i", is also a pretty dubious variable name. Don't use dubious variable names. You'll only get yourself confused, and comment on your code lots.

for dice in range(0, diceNumber):
        diceRoll = randint(1, diceType)
        diceTotal = diceTotal + diceRoll
        print "Dice #%r = %r " % (i + 1, diceRoll)

Remember to document your functions https://www.python.org/dev/peps/pep-0257/