Propellerheads Reason and Linux

Hello everyone! I am new here and I am new to linux as well. I have been playing with linux since recent times, but just made the switch to delete my windows partitions.

My question here is, does linux have issues with running Reason, a digital audio workstation meant for mac and windows?

I am running Reason 9.5 on a windows machine and is the only reason outside gaming, that I have kept windows for so long. I mean, I refuse to update to win ten… and win 7 is great for gaming and music, but i am moving on, i feel very insecure about the ignorance i posses around computers and with what all is happening these days, learning linux just makes sense.

so i had decided to remove windows and deal with the absence of my other hobbies, to take on full time, learning linux and all the other facets that interest me, and my goals or intentions.

I read on google, people have had wine installed and was able to get Reason to work, but i guess im asking if people have any experience with DAWS or Reason specifically and linux. thanks!

By the looks of it it has poor support in wine https://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager.php?sClass=application&iId=811

You could try but might be out of luck. In general i tend to suggest looking for nativly supported alternative workflows. This does sometimes mean compromising on some things relearning a new workflow, and sometimes having a more complex workflow. Its very dependant on what you want to do.

1 Like

yea, thats the general consensus i received as well from my research. i admit i never delved deep into the research, thus my questioning.

its okay i will install a win partition on a new drive and keep it for my gaming and music… and linux will still be my new thing. I will dual boot or use separate drives (likely) to isolate any problems. ie no sharing one drive two partitions.

You may be able to do a vm. You don’t need to worry about dual booting then.

1 Like