Project Outlaw

I will be doing a permanent dedicated SFF PC build for LAN events. During my last trip to QuakeCon I had a bad experience when it comes to traveling with a mid tower while attempting to travel via Amtrak, it seems that no electronic items can be checked in 0_o. But can be used as carry on if size permits, hence this build log. My next two LAN events will require travel (one in Indiana and the second PDXLAN at Oregon). Even though I may drive to both there's the possibility that I may choose to fly and take my build as a carry on when I do.

Since I am a US Army Vet and decided to start getting involved with Operation Supply Drop I chose to do a military themed build. The case I will be using is Fractal Design's Node 304 in black, but will paint an OD Green. I intent to cut in a window on top panel, replace front panel and its I/O, add case feet and a carrying handle. I'll edit and add custom parts from MNPCTECH with links below. Thanks to Bill Owen for sponsoring me with parts for this mod (see links and pictures below).

I will post updates as build progresses. In the meantime it's time to break case down.

Specs:

Fractal Design Node 304 Mini-ITX PC case, black
MSI Z97I AC Mini-ITX LGA 1150 Motherboard
Intel i5 4690k CPU
8GB 9 2 x 4GB) Kingston Hyper Beast DDR3 2400MHz RAM
Two 500GB ea. Samsung 850 EVO SSDs
Sapphire Radeon R9 285 ITX 2GB GPU (temporary)
EVGA SuperNOVA 650 GS Fully Modular PSU (getting next month)
Four Noctua NF-B9 redux 1600, SSO Bearing Fan 92mm (getting next month)
One Noctua NF-P14s redux-1500 PWM, SSO Bearing Fan 140mm (getting next month)
Cooler Master Hyper D92, CPU cooler (getting net month)

Note will either use two 92mm 0r two 80mm case fans for custom front panel, will know more as I start mod.

Removed rubber "case feet" and discovered screws underneath. Seems like there's a bottom plastic like tray that can be removed as well.

I chose to remove this bottom "tray" for better installation of custom case feet.