Position of files on disk in XFS file system

The story:
I am running unRAID on my home media server. I was moving tens of TBs of data from one server onto unRAID and over-filled some of the drives. I have plenty of space on the pool (Total: 175 TB, Free: 58.3 TB), so now I would like to move some files of those over-filled drives, into the emptier ones.
All drives on my unRAID have XFS file system on them.

The goal:
All those over-filled disks have mostly been filled in one swoop - as in I used Midnight Commander and moved files from one disk onto another, until that one was “full”.
When I was moving the files onto those drives, I assume the files were written to the disks in the manner of fastest disk place to slowest. If that’s true, I would like to move the latest files, as they would be in the slowest place on the disk (I assume nearest to the center of the platters).

I am a total linux newb, so lemme say sorry in advance, if my questions are silly…

Questions:

1. Am I right assuming, that XFS filled up the disks like I’ve described: fastest-to-slowest disk place?
  2. If yes, how can I find out which files where written to the disk the latest?
  3. One idea I had, is maybe using the inodes? Does XFS create the inodes sequentially?
    I mean, if it does, I could sort files by inodes (from smallest to largest number), and this way I could find out, which files should be latest written onto disk, and which ones should I move of…
  4. Maybe there is some other, better/easier “linuxy” way to achieve this? A bash command, or script?

I hope I am making some sense… :slight_smile:

Thanks in advance for any help.

The only filesystems with sequential inodes is vFAT.

All the Unix filesystems place data far apart.

As to the second part of your question, I am not sure.

The “linuxy” way of moving “older” data off to a slower store would be to use utilities like “find” to identify directories and files that are older than “N”.