Plex server build

Hey there everyone,

This is my first post, so any issues with formatting or the questions please let me know and I’ll fix them as soon as I can.

I’ve done a bit of research into the prebuilt synology systems and whilst I’m sure they’re good, I’d love to go my own way and make sure I spend my money in the right way. I don’t have a set budget as I want to go for fairly new parts

I have lots of experience building PCs but this is my first server build and want to get a feel of the right hardware for the job as well as software.

My main requirements are as follows:
Access the media from anywhere, be it a phone, console or anywhere in between
Capable of up to 10 concurrent streams (this is not that important but is a nice to have)
Be able to host ~my own webserver and~ gitlab

EDIT:
Be able to use my vpn provider (express vpn) or another provider if need be

For personal / internal use or to put out on the web? My general rule is never host a website from within your home network, especially not on a server hosting personal data. Not worth the risk.

Do you have a budget for the rest of the kit? Yu would do fine with a used server or brand new ryzen system but it helps to understand what your price range is.

Don’t forget to budget for backup disks and power bills

Hey @Airstripone,

Thanks for the quick response!

Noted, I currently have a webserver that I am paying for but would ideally like to cut the cost of it.

As for a budget, I would be happy to go for a brand new ryzen system along with 12TB of storage with backup, so perhaps 2x12TB drives. I don’t have much media currently on my home PC, it’s roughly around 6TB.

Power bills should be okay to cover.

I’d say a modest budget of around £1500? ($2000)