PFsense: Wireguard tunnel inside another tunnel

Hello all,

I am relatively new to PFsense and networking, and I have a few questions that I would appreciate some input on. Currently, I have set up a Site-to-Site WireGuard VPN between my home and my relatives. I am wondering if it’s possible to initially establish a Mullvad VPN to the internet and then establish the Site-to-Site VPN within that connection, as illustrated below.

In the pursuit of enhanced network obscurity, is it also feasible to automatically rotate the Mullvad VPN with a secondary Mullvad VPN tunnel to a different server?

EDIT:
Side note: I acknowledge that this setup demands additional resources from the routers. At site A (main site), I am in the process of constructing an i7 system capable of managing this, complemented by my upgraded 1GB fiber internet. Conversely, site B poses no complications, as its internet speed is limited to 30MB down and 10MB up, making the current router sufficient for the task.

Thanks!

Sure, basically yes.

You’d need to coordinate endpoint / peer addresses somehow, and then there’s the issue of MTU, inner MTU would be (or should be configured) smaller than outer.

Hello there,

Great to hear that it’s possible! I’m hopeful to discover online instructions or get some pointers, as PFsense can be a bit complex at times. :slightly_smiling_face:

I was worried this was too complex to do on PFsense alone. Phew!

Cheers!

I would suggest using openvpn rather than wireguard as it allows you to specify the interface it uses. It’s a bit tricky to force wireguard to use a specific gateway for it’s traffic and I’ve never been able to get it to work reliably.

Hello there,

It would come at the cost of overhead. right? I’m worried it would be too much for the hardware.