Pfsense behind ISP modem/router combo

Howdy people :slight_smile:

I have been running pfsense for a few years, and really enjoyed the control and options it brings.

Until I moved, the ISP modem/router combo (at my old apartment) had been in bridge mode, and serving pfsense a public wan ip. No problems there.
But after moving, and recently switching ISP, I have been unable to get an public wan ip on pfsense, when the ISP router/modem is in bridge mode.
And my new ISP offer ZERO support for bridge mode. It is infuriating, especially since the ISP at my old apartment took care of everything. One call, they switched mode on the modem from their end. Everything worked.
But they sadly don’t offer their services where I live now anymore, hence why I switched ISP.

Since I’m unable to get a wan ip in bridge mode, I have (at least for now) settled to leave the ISP modem/router in normal mode, connected my pfsense router to it, and disabled: Block private networks and loopback addresses on the wan interface in pfsense.
So now pfsense has a wan ip of 192.168.x.xx.
It all works fine now, I’m getting the speeds I’m paying for, and my own network is up and running again after a long weekend of screaming at the ISP router…

But am I missing out on any security/performance/benefits, by pfsense not having the public wan ip? Since my entire network now is a subnet (I suppose)?
And are there any security risk by having disabled: Block private networks and loopback addresses, when it’s on a 192.168.x.xx (subnet?) ?

I’m not too strong on networking, so input is gladly accepted :slight_smile:

Edits for typesetting, typos etc. A lot of them.

You’re being double NATted which is generally bad for P2P and gaming. If you aren’t having any problems then it’s fine, there aren’t any security concerns.

Hm. I do game, but haven’t tested it yet. Are there any workaround being double NATted? Besides getting the ISP router to behave in bridge mode?