PFSense 10G Fiber Semetrical S2S VPN - Am I Crazy?

I have 2 sites that each have a 10G fiber internet connection. So far I am working at roughly 2.5 to 3 Gbps. The routers on there own tend to get about 6.5 Gbps to 8 Gbps on there own (usage dependent).

I suspect that I am being limited by how fast the CPU can encrypt, tunnel, decrypt and route my traffic. (I am not a network engineer so I apologize if I am using the wrong terms.)

Both sites are running PFSense

CPU Info @ Site A
Intel(R) Core™ i7-6700 CPU @ 3.40GHz
8 CPUs: 1 package(s) x 4 core(s) x 2 hardware threads
AES-NI CPU Crypto: Yes (active)

CPU Info @ Site B
Intel(R) Xeon(R) E-2278G CPU @ 3.40GHz
16 CPUs: 1 package(s) x 8 core(s) x 2 hardware threads
AES-NI CPU Crypto: Yes (active)

Beyond age of the chips I am wondering if a higher base clocked CPU will help. I am also not sure if PFSense will take advantage of boost clock and due to consistent usage I would rather have a higher base and not worry as much about boost. Correct me if my logic is wrong here. This config has run fine on a 1G symmetrical but now that 10G is finally on both ends its upgrade time.

To this end I am considering the Intel® Xeon® W-1250P Processor with its 6c/12t and a 4.1 GHz base clock and a Super Micro X12SCZ-TLN4F (I picked this specific board because of its integrated 2x 10G ports and 2x 1G ports (I still run some isolated LANs for VMs and Dev / Test.)

For anyone curious about how / why I use so much data its mainly due to VMs and data replication.

I am currently using WireGuard for the S2S links.

It’s my first time in the forums here so please be kind with feedback on my post.