Personal Website

Hey guys, I need some advice on creating a website to advertise myself.

I'm a student in college right now, and want to set myself up a personal site to advertise myself and my abilities, and have a little blog on the side for my projects and stuff. Right now, a lot of my income comes from home electronic repair and setup around my town. (Computers, TVs, sound systems, etc.) I have really limited HTML and CSS experience, and I've never had a real website before.

I just want something people or potential employers can look at and get a good representation of me. I'm hoping for something relatively cheap and easy to set up. I'd like a service that would give me an email on my domain as well. Does anyone have any suggestions/advice for a first time website? Thanks in advance!

Theres tons of free/open templates out there that look pretty good. You need to be able to figure out what the code does at the least though.

https://www.zoho.com/
Free email, among other things. Will use your domain and guides you through SPF and DKIM records.

Whatever you do, use high res images on your site. Nothing says unprofessional/lazy than pixelated garbage.

2 Likes

Honestly, considering the prerequisites, I think squarespace isnt a bad idea. I've done a bit of craigslist contract work for web design and I would usually just end up hooking a customer up with a squarespace site because of how easy it is for them to understand / control themselves.

Squarespace includes super easy to use blogging features. There is a fully featured ios/android app to write and publish from.

The price of squarespace per year is comparable to buying a domain and server space per year. Set up is literally drag and drop so its got you there.

They support custom email addresses as long as you use your own domain. (Ps. Im pretty sure they include a custom .com domain in the site if you pay for the first year up front)