Opinion on HA ZFS Cluster

I’m working on a project for a client of mine who requires a networked data store for hosting lots of virtualized servers using VMWare. Most of the servers will be running financial applications, so I need to find a COMPLETELY redundant solution. Everything from a bad drive to a bad CPU needs to have automatic failover w/o losing any data in the process.

Doing this on the cheap, however, is not an easy thing to do. After a week or so of research, I think that ZFS may be the way to go. I’m just looking for the opinions of people who have worked extensively with ZFS to make sure that I’m not insane, and make sure I’m not missing anything critical. I have some experience with FreeNAS, but I’ve never done anything to this level with ZFS.

Currently, the configuration I’m planning on going with is based on dual HP Proliant DL360p G8 Nodes w/ D3600 JBOD.

2x DL360e G8 Server

• Dual Xeon E5-2430
  • 32 GB ECC RAM
  • Intel Pro Dual SFP+ Network Card
  • HP H241 Host Bus Adapter
  • 2x Samsung 256GB SSD ( RAID1 - Boot )
  • 1x Samsung 512GB SSD ( L2ARC )

1x HP SW D3600

• 10x HP 4TB Dual Port SAS HDD ( RAID 10 - Storage )
  • 2x HGST ZeusRAM 8G SSD (RAID 1 - ZIL/SLOG )

In theory, this should allow for failure of any part in the system, without losing data and without downtime. Both G8 nodes will be configured in HA using Corosync/Pacemaker as recommended by this article.

Networking Diagram

Please let me know what you guys think about this configuration. I’m looking to be able to get about 3-4Gb/s worth of combined write/read performance, with most of the applications running in VMWare being write intensive. I am looking to start placing orders in about a week but wanted to have a quick sanity check before spending the money.

Thanks,
Ethan R.

Does VMWare support RDB for Ceph? This kind of deployment is what Ceph was designed for.

1 Like

As @SesameStreetThug says, look into Ceph.