One raspberry pi and I'm already hooked on homelab

This is my first time post but have been a huge fan of the guys from level one. I both share interest in all things Tech as well as being a former central Kentuckian (Garrard/Madison Co) as well.

Okay now to get what brings me here today. After purchasing a Raspberry pi 3a+ for pihole and another 400 all in one for the kids I’m starting to get hooked on all things homelab. To the point I just purchased an old Dell R620 to further my understanding in things like containers, VM, networking and so on. I’ve been a long time Linux hobbiest from the days of Mandriva, Slackware and Fedora Core. As of right now my poison seems to be mainly Fedora on my Desktop and Thinkpad L13 Gen 2 and debian on my pi’s.

So my question to the forum is what are some ideas for my new server thats on the way? I’m thinking hypervisor to do some distro testing/breaking , containers, and mainly hobby stuff so wiping it all clean and starting over won’t hurt to bad… along with other things but I’m still debating on my best route of getting there. I’m still on the fence as far as using VMware, Redhat virtualization or something like openshift.

I feel that I’m fairly tech savy all though that isn’t my day job of (HVAC/R) but I would like to get to the point in life where my career aligns more with my hobbies which are mainly tech based. Been leaning towards automations and development.

4 Likes

Self hosting is a thing among the Homelabbers. Getting your own Google Drive alternative via Nextcloud is a good way to start. People also like to keep and stream their legally bought DVDs via Emby/Jellyfin/Plex.

1 Like

Since you’re into hvac, home assistant , esphome, node-red, prometheus might be fun to get into.

Kubevirt seems to be all the rage these days, instead of VMs hosting container nodes, putting Kubernetes on bare metal and scheduling VMs across a fleet same way you schedule containers - like pretty much all hyperscalers do.

1 Like