Office Standard

Hi

I work as a IT supporter and I have a question regarding Office 2019 versions.
So a coworker of mine installed an Allkeystore office2019 standard key. Well, this is not how we usually get the keys, and the boss was pissed. 1 Month later, the customer returns and his key is no longer working.
We now replaced the key with a true legit Office 2019 H&B key.

This whole drama made me wonder what actually is the difference between Office 2019 standard and Home & Business?

The error the customer got said something regarding no connection to the company server.

As of my understanding, standard keys are for companies having to regularly check in with the company server. H&B are for private users that don’t have to check in anywhere.
I know that 2019 is not the newest version of Office, and I don’t understand why my coworker did not at least get 2021. The entire thing is bullshit as I now bought the Home & Business version and my boss wanted to buy another standard or pro plus version.

The difference comes down to licensing. Office Standard is only available through Microsoft’s Volume Licensing channel which requires an enterprise agreement. The keys that are being sold on Allkeystore are being distributed outside their intended use or could actually be stolen from an organization.

There are three types of activation options used with MS VL products. Two of them (KMS and AD) talk to internal servers of organization and the third, MAK, usually communicates directly to Microsoft’s activation servers. The Office Standard product key your co-worker received would had been an MAK key. When organizations choose to use MAK they are issued a single product key that can be activated many, many times.

So likely the Office Standard key your co-worker received was also sold to lots of other people on Allkeystore. Then either Microsoft or a VLCS admin caught wind of excessive MAK activations and did a blanket deactivation on everyone using the key.