OC'ing an FX-8350 w/ Noctua nh-c12p se14

Hey guys,

I was just looking for some help overclocking my 8350, I've never OC'd before so I am a total noob however I understand some basic principles like voltage and clocks etc. but I've never done it myself. Im running the 8350 (of course) with a Noctua nh-c12p se14 on a M5A99FX Pro-R2.0.

Seeing as i'm running air I totally get it if I simply cant do it because of heat issues, the 8350 is obviously a hot chip but it stays around 55C playing games, so i thought it would be possible.

Cheers!

55C during games is already almost too hot to OC with. 62C-65C is your max and that cooler isn't going to allow that large of an overclock, maybe 4.4GHz-4.5GHz with a very slight increase in stock voltage.

55C is a very rough estimate, im away from my computer at the moment so I will be able to tell you exactly what the temps are tomorrow. So, (as I am a noob) how exactly do I go about changing voltages and getting it up to 4.4/5 (sorry for being a pain, but we all have to learn somewhere)

Here is a rough guide that I used when I first OC'ed my FX-8350 with the M5A99FX Pro R2.0. The settings are slightly different and some extra overclocking features aren't there but it's ok. That's the official Asus ROG overclocking guide.

http://rog.asus.com/216552013/crosshair-motherboards/guide-overclocking-fx-8350-to-4-8ghz-on-crosshair-v-formula-z/

I would suggest attempting to bump up your Multiplier first to 22 at 1.4v then run Realbench from Asus in stress test mode for at least 15 minutes to test stability and heat. You can find Realbench here:

http://rog.asus.com/file/?download=RealBench_v2.41.zip

We can talk the minutiae of re-enabling the power saving features after you find a stable overclock that isn't too hot.

Check out JJs vid.

You should also go into fan expert and set a CPU fan profile to cool that thing.

My way: