OC Advice for a new PC?

I’m currently running Linux on a cheap pre-built PC with a Ryzen 7 1700 CPU. There is no facility for overclocking in the BIOS, but I have been able to use Zenstates and P-state overclocking to get an all-core boost of 3.8GHz. (The cheap power supply won’t permit more.) Doing this, I retain the full range of frequencies from 1.55GHz idle to 3.8GHz max.

I am now going to build a new computer with an OC capable x570 motherboard and a Ryzen 5000 series CPU. My question is, should I attempt to overclock the CPU using the features of the motherboard, or should I leave it alone and stick with P-state overclocking? I’ve never done “real” overclocking before. This PC will be for productivity and software development. I’m not a gamer, and I don’t need the CPU running at 5.0GHz all the time wasting electricity. I will try tightening the memory timings, but as for the CPU, what do you think?

I think you should let the CPU handle itself. See how it works at stock first. Then enable PBO if you like.

I wouldn’t go past that.

4 Likes

Generally with Ryzen if you go overclocking you give up PBO which can potentially enable you to boost higher than an all core overclock will get you. This can help with lightly threaded workloads.

I mean if you’re doing it for fun, go for it, just don’t expect to gain much without exotic cooling. AMD really has done a pretty good job of optimizing what is available out of the box IMHO.

If the computer does what it should at a reasonable speed, I see no point in OC.

Sure, OC is awesome, but raw CPU speed is only going to get you that far and these days, it’s usually more interesting to lower the wattage than overclock in either case. At 8 cores+, the bottleneck will not really be your CPU.

3 Likes