Nvidia poor performance on fresh Arch install

Hello,

I recently rebuilt my PC and reinstalled Arch Linux as part of the process. However, no matter what I do, I seem to be having problems with NVIDIA drivers. I installed the proprietary and open drivers, tested with both GNOME and KDE, and even used both X11 and Wayland. So far, X11 was unusable, while Wayland has been more usable with semi-frequent lag-spikes. Quick searches in forums and reddit shows that this isn’t a common issue. Other users have had success with NVIDIA on the latest drivers.

I’ve been using Linux since 2010 and an Arch derivative since 2013, and am a full-time software. I’ve never had this much trouble with NVIDIA, but here I am. I have no idea what’s going on or how to fix it. I’d appreciate any help anyone can give.

Specs:

• Ryzen 9 5900X
  • ASRock X570 Creatore
  • 64GB RAM (TeamGroup T-Force Vulcan Z 2x32GB 3200MHz CL16)
  • Samsung 980 Pro 1TB
  • Dell Alienware RTX 3090
  • Kernel: 6.8.1-arch1-1

Steps taken:

• Switched between nvidia-open and nvidia
  • Tested with GDM/Gnome 46 and SDDM/Plasma
  • Enabled KMS early loading
  • Enabled drm modesetting
  • Enabled nvidia memory persistance
  • Forcibly enabled GDM wayland support

So far, only enabling wayland has shown any amount of success. Switch back to x11 still results in horrible performance. And even on wayland, Steam and Firefox have strange performance issues where they launch very stuttery, stabilize after awhile, then returns to poor performance. Certain tasks also cause system-wide slowdown, like installing a game on steam. Apparently, X11 works great with NVIDIA, but that has not been my experience with either KDE or GDM. Searches show year-old bugs in the driver related to mouse polling rates, but that doesn’t seam to be the issue for me.

which nvidia gpu? what exactly do you mean poor performance, low fps, desktop animations? you mention lag spikes?

1 Like