Now Nautilus is broken

(nautilus:16029): Gtk-CRITICAL **: Error building template class 'NautilusToolbar' for an instance of type 'NautilusToolbar': .:193:46 Invalid property: GtkScrolledWindow.max-content-height
Segmentation fault (core dumped)

So I can't open Nautilus, here is the output from launching it from the terminal. I am running OpenSUSE Tumbleweed.

When is the last time you updated OpenSUSE Tumbleweed? I'm on it as well.

Last night right before this problem started.

I don't seem to have this issue and I updated just today. Trying asking in /r/opensuse?

I also can't open the gnome settings app.

Have you tried rolling back on Snapper? That may help.

Well I am kinda new to OpenSUSE and this is the first time I have heard of snapper, So I don't have any images.

Hmm, I really don't know what would have caused this issue. My best advice is to ask on /r/opensuse or the mailing list / irc. People actively help in those IRCs and are more knowledgeable than me.

press Ctrl + Shift + F1, and this opens up a TTY sesssion. Log into your account and manage your system via CLI. Suggest you rollback the version of nautilus using zypper or yast cli.

1 Like

I can open a terminal just fine.

The best bet is to either ask for support or start rolling back packages like Dynamic_Gravity mentioned.

So it worked for nautilus, but not gnome-control-center it still has errors.

austin@RedRyzen:~> gnome-control-center
gnome-control-center: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib64/libwebkit2gtk-4.0.so.37: undefined symbol: gdk_wayland_display_get_type

Then what's the problem? Are you having trouble rolling back the packages?

You can use zypper info -t type name to find information about the packages in question.

type = package type
name = name of what we are querying.

Package Types

• package
  • patch
  • pattern
  • product

I rolled back nautilus and now it works just fine, Now I can't open the Gnome setting app. I tried rolling it back, but it still doesn't work.