Noob Networking... I'm missing an important lesson

I’m basically a networking noob looking for resources to learn some missed fundamentals. Not sure exactly what to search for…

I simply want to create a few independent networks in my home for things like media, secured browsing, and a “Homelab” kinda thing(I installed proxmox and want to explore VM and Linux stuff. For now I just want to figure out best practices for doing this.

I did create a static connection from my ISP modem/router(192.168.1.2) to another router that serves my media(tv, consoles, and home wifi)(192.168.50.1) and that seems to work… but I feel that it is not best practice to just use a static IP to each new router for each network… or is it that easy. Or what hardware/software should i use manage the IP addresses for each network.

I found some Network Chuck videos on subnetting and I understand what is going on and how the addresses work but I’m not going to need more that 250 hosts on each network so I shouldn’t really need to subnet anything.

Thank you in advance for reading this and replying. I don’t want to take up too much of anyone’s time on the specifics I will take suggestions for videos, websites or even keywords to search for.

Cheers,

Justin

To do this, generally what you would end up setting up is different subnets within your router so that you have a separate subnet for each intended network type. This is separate from the amount of hosts each subnet can support - this only matters so long as you have enough room for the hosts in that subnet and don’t run out; for most home users this isn’t an issue. In most home router/firewall all-in-ones I’ve used, the subnets are also used to help define firewall rules which define that security boundary between the networks, and also for defining rules between those networks and the internet.

As an example, using your categories ( /24 is subnet mask 255.255.255.0’s shorthand form; this gives 1-254 as usable host IPs in that network):