Newb with a new build

Here is what I'm thinking of throwing together.

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/MCjQxr

I've been a gamer but want to move back into the pc realm. (I haven't really played many pc games other than RTS since the 90's early 2000's) So it will obviously be used for gaming but other than that I mess around with music making software. Nothing too serious. I will be starting out gaming in 1080p but I kind of want the option to upgrade if I choose. As far as overclocking, I don't know much about it but it seems like something I'd dabble as I progress down this path.

I've never built a pc before. I feel confident that this is a solid setup but since I don't have any experience with a bunch of different pieces of hardware I'm just searching for some input. I'm not necessarily looking to go cheaper or anything but I'm just wondering about some of the components and if some of it is overkill. The Motherboard for example. Is something like the MAXIMUS VII HERO really going to make a big difference over something like a ASUS Z97-A? and does it truly justify the price difference?

I'm just trying to learn something before I commit you know? If anyone has any comments or suggestions about any of the components and/ or combinations of components they would be greatly appreciated.

Intel Core i7's are pointless for gaming as is RAM above 1866. Western Digital Green drives aren't the best for gaming either. The motherboard you chose is good but way OP and the hyper 212 evo isn't the best for overclocking. Other than that the 970 has a VRAM issue and you could get a better PSU at this budget, but the one you have is still good. Anyways I recommend picking up something like the rig I posted below.

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/3vKQxr

My recommenced options
Opt. 1:

-Replace the CPU with an AMD 8350, it's cheap and performs well + noctua nh-d15, make sure to get RAM that it can clear

-Get a ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 or 3.0

Opt. 2: