New Zealand 'Broadband/Copper Tax'

(Its my first time posting so I have no idea what im doing but ive folllowed Tek Syndicates videos and I thought this is relevant)

Linked article - http://tvnz.co.nz/technology-news/kiwis-being-taxed-over-ufb-roll-lobby-group-5582253

Background Information So Im from New Zealand and currently the government has an initiative to roll out fibre to all existing homes with copper (new homes have it to the doorstep). They are only rolling out fibre to the roads (like outside houses on the footpaths) and when the user purchases a fibre plan the ISP will connect the fibre cable to their home.

So the government has made it so all standard ADSL (copper) cost THE SAME as the equivilent data capped fibre plan. This means if a $100 a month plan would get me ADSL and 100 down 50 up

This seems like a bargain for the end user right? It is and the government is doing this so that people are enticed to switch to the fibre and get it connected to their house.

The Problem It is a sweet deal for people who have fibre outside their house but the problem is most of the country doesn't. This fibre network is limited right now to major centres (and hardly any of that) and New Zealand has some unique terrain like a goddamn mountain range down the whole of the South Island meaning towns down there won't get it until at least another 3-6 years. And in that time they will have to pay extra for crappy internet.

Plus the privatly owned contractor who is laying out the fibre, Chorus, will gain an estimated $600mil (NZD) out of this as they will get the money from the extra kiwi's are paying for existing copper connections.

Thanks for reading it if you got this far :P Please give your solutions/thoughts in a comment. Thanks :)