New to Pandas, need help iterating over each row element

Hi guys,

As the title says I’m new to pandas and I’m trying to check whether an element in a dataframe row is empty, and if it is not null pull some elements from the row. My goal is to parse a csv which has product names, IDs and product categories used in search indexing.

Each row of the csv has multiple categories and the end goal is to create a list with the product name, ID and a single category for each item, with the multiple entries for each product that has multiple categories.

My idea was to load the csv, create another dataframe to hold the data in case I make a mistake and alter the original, and loop through each row with .iterrows, incrementing a variable and using a for loop to get the elements in question. At each iteration append the product row name, ID and current category to a list that I’d convert to a dataframe and finally a new csv.

csv

But for some reason it doesn’t go through each row element making copies for each category, I only get the third element(category) as given by the variable i.

Any idea what I’m doing wrong?

What you’re proposing sounds so complicated that I’m not entirely sure what you’re after, checkout str.split and explode

Perhaps something like this:

# split string on whitespace into a new column 
df['cat_list'] = df['Category'].str.split()
# unnest said list
df.explode('cat_list')

to check if empty in pandas, just do:

if df.empty()

can do the same when checking for NAs as well:

if df.isna()

this may be helpful as there are other ways to check the data such as null etc:

https://pandas.pydata.org/pandas-docs/stable/reference/api/pandas.DataFrame.isna.html

1 Like

oh btw you don’t have to iterrate over the rows most times unless you are doing something like a slice or push, you can just drop rows if they have something, pandas handles it on the backend

edit:

This page explains drop pretty good according to my cursory overview:

1 Like