New to Linux. Bought Cyberpunk on GOG. Best way to install?

Hello all I am new to Linux and I am running pop os. I purchased Cyber punk from GOG and want to know the best way to download and install. Thanks in advance and happy gaming!

Let me preface this by saying I dont have Cyberpunk 2077 and I do not actively use Lutris right now.

I think Lutris is your way to go. Install it and it has a community maintained install script for Cyberpunk 2077, but you have to install the GOG Galaxy client as well via Lutris. I think you have to login to the GOG client as well prior to installing the game proper.

2 Likes

These days the goto solution is Lutris for, well, pretty much all games. The Lutris scripts will almost always install the most Linux compatible version of the game.

Only sad part about Lutris is that it does not really support abandonware / games so old, the only legal way to play is to install it from a CD-ROM. Naturally most such titles without a proper re-release have gotten inofficial QoL releases over the years, but since they are abandonware linking to these releases would have the same legal status as linking to ROMs. This is the only drawback with Lutris, and does not apply to your use case. So… TLDR; Use Lutris :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Shouldn’t need to. The way Lutris integrates GOG is that you can login and then it will auto-download the files, or if you don’t want to log into GOG you can just download the files from the website manually and point Lutris to the installer file:

It’s certainly possible to write installers that install the games from CD-ROM, that’s absolutely in the realm of possibility. The issue here is just that when barely anyone plays the games in the first place, the chance of a Lutris script already existing are pretty much non-existant. So you’d have to actively go out and write a script yourself, it’s a community effort after all.
On how to do this, see here:

3 Likes