New programmer - an idea

Hey Guys,

I've been in programming college for about 3 months now and wanted to discuss an idea with you guys;

I want to build an AI that can teach a person things like maths, science and programming. The AI should be flexible in a way that it should be able to modify its own lessons to the users learning style and be able to improve itself through a series of algorithms.

Id like to make this an open source project for all to use to help assist both people in developed countries (USA, Canada, Europe etc.) as well as people in developing countries to assist in their education infrastructure. Any advice at all would be greatly appreciated as I am fairly new to programming and I am not even sure where to begin but together I feel we could really make a difference in the world with an AI like this.

Thanks

1 Like

I like your ambition, since you're new I'd recommend starting small and make something simple, like a math problem generator & checker. AI is hard, you're going to have to work hard for it.

5 Likes

Yeah, same here I definitely agree with explorer, @jonnyp3f I'd recommend starting a small and learning the concepts of how AI works, and start building a strong foundation to which you can add onto later on when you start learning more. I'm kind of in the same boat as you, I am a freshmen at university majoring in computer engineering, I am currently learning C++, object orientated programming, data structures, algorithms, unix system administration courses, etc.., but I am also going to work on Java Android Development during the Winter break. It's good to have your own little projects that you work on and have fun with, also dont forget about using github.

my2cents

1 Like

Wow, what a project to undertake after just 3 months of coding. I certainly admire your ambition mate.