New in-ear earbuds

Dear community, I’d like to have your sincere and unbiased opinion regarding this matter. I’ve been rocking for many years the Sennheiser CX300 Precision II. The sound was really satifying for me, balanced and maybe a bit biased towards highs but not too much. What I really didn’t like was the fit, one earbud was not sealing properly (asimmetric ears). Also I sent back a pair because the left bud failed and it failed again on this pair. I listen to many different genres but mostly metal so I can spot a muddy sounding device from a mile away once I put it through it’s paces. The price range would be 30-35€ at max since I’m not asking for the world and I’ll be using them during commutes so if I accidentally break them I’ll not commit seppuku.

Browsing the Amazon forest of junk three pairs caught my eyes:

• Sennheiser CX 3.00
    [revisited design compared to the CX 300, should fit better and sound the same]

• Sony MDR-XB50AP
    [I’ve had a pair of Sony buds in the past, I like them but now I’m scared that they’d sound way too basy for me]

• Pioneer SE-CH3T
    [same price as the ones above, look like they’ll fit me well and they’re hi-res which really intrigues me but can’t find any comment about it]

If you have any other suggestion I’ll be happy to hear back from you. I’m not really sold on buying again a pair of CX300 because of the reliability not being too high and the funky fit with my right ear but they’re a last resort for sure. Thanks!

Soundmagic E10C’s is what I upgraded to from my CX300 II’s.

The E10C’s are much better sounding IMO. Really impressive for the price.

1 Like

I’m a Sony shill. I don’t think I would go for the xb50s simply because their cheaper ones are really good. My favorite so far of all the cheap sonys are the mdr ex110ap. I have several pairs and these hit the spot for me. Only downside is they are discontinued. The mdr ex155ap is their replacement as far as I can tell but they aren’t as comfortable for me.