New Build with Nested Virtualization in MacOS VM

Hello everyone,

I want to build a new workstation for work and play.

The general idea of the workstation is to allow me to run Linux/Windows/MacOs VMs on the same box, and switch between them depending on the use case.

The setup would run on UNRAID, Proxmox or a Linux host with the other two OSs running in VMs.

Linux - as my default OS
Windows - as my gaming OS
MacOS - as my work OS

The first two I know how to setup, but the third one gets slightly more complicated.

As a mobile developer I need to be able to run multiple Simulators/Emulators of Mobile Devices inside MacOS, so I don’t have to own multiple physical devices for debugging.

Questions:

1. What hardware would you recommend ?
  • I’m looking at the Ryzen 9 5950X (not set in stone but seems like a good price/performance option)
  1. Is this even possible at this moment in time with an AMD CPU ?
  • I’ve already tried to make this run on a i5 6600k just to see if it would work with UNRAID.
  • I’ve installed Macinabox and booted my MacOS VM, but as soon as I opened Android Studio and wanted to start an emulator, I was greeted with the message “Your CPU does not support VT-x”.
  • I’ve already seen posts on the forum about enabling VM nesting in UNRAID, but this didn’t help.

Any input is much appreciated.

Thank you.

Kind regards.

Any reason why your using Mac for developing android ? Why not just use Android studio in your Linux environment which you said was your default anyways … Just curious.

As for AMD and Mac OS yes it’s done without issues and I do use it with my threadripper. Now I have never tried nesting virtualization since when I do develop for Android I use intellij on Linux.